About Us

Brief History
Mission & Guiding Principles
Programs
Staff
Board of Directors
Employment Opportunities
Newsletter

Brief history

Butte 4-C’s is a non-profit regional child care resource and referral agency serving children, families, and early childhood professionals in southwest Montana. We became a 501 (c) 3 organization over 40 years ago in June of 1974. Although child care resource and referral is our primary source of business, our organization provides a broad range of programs and services to meet the increasing needs of children and families including the Best Beginnings Child Care Scholarship; child care referrals; training, technical assistance, and professional development for early childhood professionals; the Child and Adult Care Food Program; evidence based home visiting; supervised visitation; parent education; children’s mental health; the early childhood coalition; grandparent support group; and parent support groups.


Mission & Guiding Principles

Mission Statement: Butte 4-C’s is dedicated to strengthening families, supporting early childhood professionals, and promoting high quality, affordable child care.

Guiding Principles:
• All children should have equal access to safe, healthy, stable, and affordable child care with developmentally appropriate activities in a child oriented environment with trained and loving caregivers.
• Parents retain and must exercise responsibility for assessing, selecting, and continually monitoring child care for their children.
• Butte 4-C’s encourages and assists child care professionals and facilities to achieve their professional goals.
• When judgment calls are required, Butte 4-C’s advocates for the child.
• Butte 4-C’s offers and encourages early childhood education to the community in an effort to promote best practices and high quality child care.


Programs

FAMILY SERVICES We oversee the Best Beginnings Scholarship Program, which provides child care assistance dollars to families. We provide child care referrals to families looking for a child care facility.
PROVIDER SERVICES – We assist individuals interested in becoming child care providers as they go through the application process. We provide training, resources, and technical assistance to existing child care providers and other early childhood professionals.
STARS TO QUALITY – The Best Beginnings STARS to Quality program (STARS) is a quality rating improvement system that aligns quality indicators with support and incentives for early childhood programs and early childhood professionals. STARS is a Continuous Quality Improvement model in which the quality of the overall program is continually being evaluated for quality improvement.
CACFP (Child and Adult Care Food Program) – We contract with the State of Montana to provide reimbursement to child care providers who serve nutritious meals and snacks to the children in their care. We provide nutrition education to children, families, and child care providers.
IN-HOME SERVICES/SUPERVISED VISITATION – We contract with the Child and Family Services Division of DPHHS to provide in-home services, supervised visitation, and parenting classes to families referred to us by the Department of Family Services.
SAFECARE HOME VISITING – A free, voluntary, evidence-based home visiting program for families with children ages 0-5. Focus areas include: health, safety, and parent/child interactions.
BUTTE COMMUNITY COUNCIL – We are an active member and fiscal agent for this Council whose goal is to create an early childhood infrastructure in our community to better meet the needs of children and families. We are currently focusing on school readiness, children’s mental health, and home visiting.
GRANDPARENTS RAISING GRANDCHILDREN We provide facilitated meetings and resources for grandparents who are raising their grandchildren.
CIRCLE OF PARENTS – Circle of Parents is a mutual self-help parent support group facilitated by parents for parents.
CONNECTING FAMILIES – We provide professional supervised visitation services for families dealing with child custody issues or court ordered visitation.
COMMUNITY PARENTING CLASSES – We receive funding from United Way to offer free parenting classes to anyone in our community.


Staff

Program Staff:
Dee Chatriand, Family Services Supervisor, dchatriand@butte4-cs.org
Sherry Taylor, Eligibility Specialist, staylor@butte4-cs.org
Patricia Gruss, Referral Specialist, Butte Community Council Coordinator  pgruss@butte4-cs.org
Terri Amberg, Provider Services Supervisor, tamberg@butte4-cs.org
Kim Polich, STAR Consultant/Professional Development Specialist , kpolich@butte4-cs.org
Mary Ann Smith, Pyramid Model Coach, msmith@butte4-cs.org
Tammy Urich, CACFP Coordinator/Professional Development Specialist, turich@butte4-cs.org
Tonya Crooker, Family Development Specialist, tcrooker@butte4-cs.org
Heather Stenson, SafeCare Family Development Specialist/Circle of Parents Facilitator, hstenson@butte4-cs.org

Administrative Staff:
Karen Cuthill, Receptionist/Program Assistant, kcuthill@butte4-cs.org
Lorena Krause, Finance Manager, lkrause@butte4-cs.org
Brenda Hergott, Executive Director, bhergott@butte4-cs.org


Board of Directors

• Connie Daily, Chairperson
• Rocko Mulcahy, Vice-Chairperson
• Dala Lean, Secretary/Treasurer
• Danette Gleason
• Marko Lucich
• Dana Peterson-Thompson
• Dale Mahugh
• Kathy Davis
• Rosie Garvey


Employment Opportunities

Thank you for your interest in employment with the Butte 4-C’s.

No current opening positions

Applicants should submit a Butte 4-C’s Employment Application, cover letter, and resume to bhergott@butte4-cs.org.

Application for Employment 2017 Click the link to download the Application for Employment.



Newsletter

Butte 4-C’s publishes a bi-monthly newsletter for families, early childhood professionals, and community members.

Click Here for the most recent newsletter.